Spotlight Asia – Investing in India’s Growth Story

Date: 19 Oct 2016

India remains an attractive destination for foreign investors as its economic fundamentals and optimism about its prospects remain strong. From a macroeconomic perspective, India is one of the fastest growing major emerging markets, with recent projections from the International Monetary Fund (IMF) pointing to a fiscal growth of 7.4% versus a 6.6% expansion in China for 2016. Politically, it is more stable than in previous cycles, with the BJP led government initiating a number of reforms and regulatory measures that are instilling economic confidence and raising India’s attractiveness as a destination for FDI. The country’s demographics are equally promising: India is home to 18% of the world’s working-age population (ages 15-64), a growing middle class with increasing purchasing power and a corporate sector that is flexing its muscle domestically and globally.

Join Kroll’s team as they share the shifting dynamics of investing in India, replete with both risks and rich rewards at every turn. It includes an in-depth commentary by Reshmi Khurana, Kroll’s Managing Director and Head of South Asia, and Tarun Bhatia, Managing Director at Kroll, who will discuss the most urgent risks of cross-border deal-making, offering insights on conducting pre-transactional due diligence on investment targets and post investment monitoring.

Featured Speakers

Reshmi Khurana is a managing director and Head, South Asia based in India. She has more than 15 years of experience in the U.S., South Asia and South East Asia conducting complex corruption investigations, litigation support and due diligence on the management, operations and business models of organizations. Her clients include asset management companies, corporations in the mining, oil and gas, consumer packaged goods and pharmaceutical industries and law firms.

Reshmi joined Kroll in 2003, working in the New York office first before moving to Kroll Singapore in 2009. She joined Kroll’s Mumbai office in 2011. Prior to joining Kroll, Reshmi was a consultant with McKinsey & Company in India.

Tarun Bhatia is Managing Director at Kroll based in India. He has over 15 years of extensive experience in evaluating, measuring and monitoring risks across corporate India. He has considerable understanding of the Indian financial sector and is a well-regarded industry expert in corporate finance, financial services and structured finance. Tarun’s diverse client roster includes conglomerates, large steel and cement commodity players, and companies across sectors such as energy, oil & gas, infrastructure, real estate, textile, automotive and financial services. Prior to joining Kroll, Tarun was Senior Director at CRISIL (a subsidiary of Standard & Poor’s), a global analytical company providing ratings, research and risk & policy advisory services. He has a demonstrated track record of incubating and scaling profitable businesses both in India and international markets. At CRISIL, he played a critical role in the transformation of the company from a domestic rating agency to a global analytical company.

Tarun has published a number of articles on the Indian banking industry and capital markets which have been featured in Indian and international journals. He is currently a member of the FICCI’s Capital Markets Committee, India’s largest and oldest apex business organization.

Timezone and Start Time for the Webinar:

Tokyo – 11pm

Singapore/Hong Kong – 10pm

Mumbai – 7:30pm

London – 3pm

Eastern Daylight (EDT) – 10am

Duration:

90 minutes

Please click here to register.

Featured Contributor

Subscribe to CGA Newsletters