Roundtable & Webinars: CBI Taxonomy & GB Database Methodology

Date: 27 Nov - 10 Dec 2018

November Webinars & December Amsterdam Roundtable-Taking the new CBI Taxonomy on Tour with backup from the Green Bond Database.

Just after summer this year we released our updated Climate Bonds Taxonomy and Green Bond Database Methodology. Now that you’ve all had time to avidly study them, we’re taking them on tour.

In person roundtable – ABN AMRO - Amsterdam

ABN AMRO will kindly host a roundtable on the Climate Bonds Taxonomy in Amsterdam. We’ll discuss the updated taxonomy, how it can be used and details of sectors that are of particular interest to the audience.

Details:

Monday 10th December: 2pm (CET), Circular building CIRCL, Gustav Mahlerplein 1B, 1082 MS, Amsterdam. Register here.

Speakers:

ABN AMRO

Taxonomy Presentation: Manuel Adamini & Katie House, Climate Bonds Initiative

Online Webinars and Q&A

Tuesday 27th November: 9am (UK) / 10am (Europe) / 5pm (Beijing) / 8pm (Sydney) – register here

Wednesday 28th November: 11:30am (New York) / 2:30pm (Brasilia) / 4:30pm (UK) – register here

Webinars will run for one hour and will have a Q&A session for participants.

What is the Climate Bonds Taxonomy and why should I learn about it?

The green bond market has been growing rapidly since 2015 and the milestone of $1trillion in green finance by end 2020 is increasingly seen as a target for global finance to deliver.

Against this backdrop, issuers, investors and policy makers want improved guidance on what assets or projects should be financed with green finance, and what should not.

The Climate Bonds Taxonomy identifies the assets and projects needed to deliver a low carbon economy and gives screening criteria consistent with limiting warming to 2-degrees; i.e. in-line with the Paris Agreement.

The 2018 version of the Taxonomy has been developed based on the latest climate science including research from the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) and the International Energy Agency (IEA).

It has also benefited from the input of hundreds of technical experts from around the world who work with us to identify assets and projects that are aligned with a 2-degree trajectory via sector specific Technical and Industry Working Groups.

The Taxonomy can be used by any entity looking to identify which assets, projects or activities are compatible with a 2-degree trajectory. It is a particularly useful tool for investors interested in green bonds and issuers (or potential issuers) in the market.

And the Green Bond Database Methodology?

The green bond database methodology is the screening process used to populate Climate Bonds’ Green Bond Database.

These webinars will help you get up to speed on the Methodology (released in September 2018). The discussion will cover the classification criteria and screening process to identify whichgreen debt instruments are eligible for inclusion in the Green Bond Database.

The updated Methodology aligns with the new version of the Climate Bonds Taxonomy.

Featured Contributor

Subscribe to CGA Newsletters